If they want an octopus cake… I make them an octopus cake!

I attended a coworkers wedding recently and at said wedding another coworker spoke of her quest for an octopus cake

*Insert Dani here*

I told her I could do it, then next thing I knew I was in my basement sculpting an octopus out of Rice Krispies.

(What has my life come to? Lol)

She told me she wants a blue octopus with a bow tie, and an under water theme. She also attached a photo to her email. Now, I want to give credit where credit is due but I have no idea where this picture came from other then in the email she sent it to me in. So here is what she wanted….

20130810-122536.jpg

Just she wanted it to be more boy-ish. I have my own way of doing things so I knew the fish weren’t gonna look like that, and I wanted to add more to it.

The final result for my version of the cake would be an 8 inch cake on bottom with a 6 inch cake on top and then the octopus on top of that….

Here is the cake I made

20130810-122905.jpg

Almost the same but still a little different! I always have to put my own spin on it like adding the crushed graham crackers around the base to look like sand. I mean really no one likes a bragger but how f’in cute of an idea was that?! I did it for another underwater mermaid make I did too.

20130810-123101.jpg

It’s a little blurry but that’s what most of the fish looked like and their cute wittle bubbles

20130810-123145.jpg

Threw in a couple sea shells for fun, as well as starfish and some green seaweed. What’s nice about cakes like this is you can literally cover up any seams, which I love. I did the blue wave layer around both cakes and easily covered the seams with the green seaweed!

20130810-123315.jpg

The back of the cake is just like the front, I like to carry the decorating all the way around so the cake can do a 360 and be decorated everywhere, not just the front.

You never know when a cake will be placed on a table in the middle of a room opposed to a table that’s against a wall… So I gotta cover all the bases! Some of the octopuses legs are curled up and some are dangled and draped over. Crazy octopus!

20130810-123535.jpg

And I’ll end this with a picture of the cake without a flash. I’m trying to see how to photograph my cakes better.

I kind of want to buy one of these…..

20130810-123804.jpg

I would be able to get really good lighting and have a nice white backdrop!

I convinced myself.. I’m buying it! What do you think?

2 thoughts on “If they want an octopus cake… I make them an octopus cake!

Leave a Reply

