Glass Canisters 2.0!

As I said in a previous post, I organized my mother’s kitchen counters. Along with the organizing I realized how much I hate the containers she keeps the flour and sugar in.

These are the dreadful ones we have used for YEARS:

IMG_0231

They had to have been my Grammas or something. They’re so old. Like old old. Brown lids, clear container, with brown flowers…. was this actually cute at one point!? Why?

I searched for some glass canisters at thrift stores that I could revamp, but I kept finding ones that were cloudy and weird.

Then I came across some that were pretty cute, came in 3 sizes as a set… but the wooden lid weirdly had painted dog faces on it, leading me to believe they were for dog treats. I popped the top open and took a whiff. Yes, dog treats.

EW.

My last option was looking at Target and surprisingly they had some nicely priced glass canisters in all different styles

IMG_0437

I ended up chosing this style! I liked it because it resembles a mason jar, and there is something so timeless about mason jars, I just LOVE THEM! I got one in the 1 gallon size for the flour, and the one for sugar is a 2 quart I believe (don’t quote me on that I already peeled off the labels so I cannot verify!) They have a nice size opening, and I checked by sticking my fist inside the opening to make sure that getting flour or sugar out would be easy.

IMG_0438

These needed some sprucing up as well. I knew I wanted to label them. I had some nice gold letter stickers on hand at home from past scrapbook projects. I used those to write flour and sugar, grabbed my jute string, spun it around the top, and secured it with some hot glue. I kept the jute string theme throughout just to help tie it all together.

IMG_0447

Heres the end result! Same jars just a little cuter and personalized 🙂

122

There they are on the counter. We are really lacking flour. But that’s okay you get the point haha

Has anyone else ever revamped a glass container?

I thought about cutting out paper for the letters to go on and mod podging that to the glass canister as well! So many different ideas for projects like this!

Leave a Reply

