Gone Fishin’…. again!!!!

HAPPY VETERAN’S DAY!
Thank you to all of the Veteran’s, and the active and fallen soldiers! It’s the land of the free because of the brave!

I have off work today so I thought I’d blog about the last cake I did 🙂

Over the past week I was so confused as to how I had ZERO cakes to make! I was like “hmmm a cake free weekend…okay this is odd!” Then Val texted me and THANK GOD she did! Because I entirely forgot about the fishing cake for her sons 5th birthday! I legit have never forgotten a cake order! I’m still unsure how it slipped my mind! If I don’t automatically enter it into my iPhone calendar then I write it on my actual calendar at work… neither of which I did! I was so mortified!!! But luckily she contacted me on Wednesday which left me with ample time to get everything done 🙂

Val needed a fishing themed cake like the last one I did, check it out HERE! Her only request was that the fish and the #5 that were going on the cake be in orange! Simple enough! Here is the fish I made for it…

IMG_4080

It’s a fishing cake so naturally we need a fish! The orange went with the rest of the theme she had going on!

IMG_4100

I made some rocks in different fondant colors. I feel like it makes them look more real!

IMG_4103

These are cat tails and they are in every picture of fishing cakes, so of course I made them. I just take tooth picks and color them green with my edible marker, wet the tip, and pop a piece of brown fondant on top.

IMG_4105

Some leaves!

IMG_4111

Here is everything that went into and onto the cake!

IMG_4113

Once it is all covered in fondant and stacked, that is when the fun begins! I decided I wanted to cover it in white fondant and spray it blue with a Wilton color mist spray! I had one left over and I HATE dying fondant. This worked out wonderfully because it really looked like water! I would’ve used my Duff Airbrush Machine but since I had this can leftover I figured I’d finish that off first!

IMG_4116

It just came out way cuter then plain blue fondant!

IMG_4118

It just gives it more of a water look to it!

IMG_4120

After it was covered in fondant and sprayed blue… I begin adding all of the premade fondant details!

IMG_4122

IMG_4123

IMG_4124

TA-DA!!!!!!!! I really loved how this cake turned out!

IMG_4129

IMG_4128

IMG_4132

IMG_4133

It came out just like I pictured it in my head! I love this theme for a boy’s birthday party!

Hope everyone likes it! Let me know what you think!

-Dani-

One thought on “Gone Fishin’…. again!!!!

Leave a Reply

