Save The Date Sign for a Doggies Neck!!

Last week my best friend Becca asked me to make a sign for her friend who is taking Save The Date pictures today actually! They are incorporating their dog in the photos which I just LOVE! So they wanted the sign to hang around her dog’s neck! Becca said it was a medium-sized dog so I went to Michael’s and they had these thin lightweight 12″ long pieces of plywood! Perf! I made a very similar but larger sign for my friend Heather to use for her wedding! Check that out here!

Here is everything I used to make this!

IMG_4134

Wood, Staple Gun, Ribbon, Sanding Block, Paint Brushes/Sponges, Paint, Primer, and a print out of whatever is going on the wood!

Lets get started!

IMG_4136

First you need to scribble pencil all over the back of your print out! This will transfer the words/numbers onto your wood!

Then run some primer over your wood! I didn’t photograph this step because you really cant even see the primer. I really love Martha Stewart’s Gesso Wood Primer. Its expensive I probably wouldn’t buy it again so you can use whatever!

IMG_4137

She wanted the sign to be “ivory” not white, so I took my white acrylic paint and mixed it with a beige acrylic paint to make an ivory color! Once the primer was dry, I painted this color on.

IMG_4141

Now lay your scribbled on paper onto the wood and trace over the letters. Once you’re done tracing you will get an outline of your words/numbers onto the wood. Just light enough to see it!

IMG_4142

Then take your black paint and fill it all in! This step takes the most time especially if you have thin lines like this one does. I desperately needed new paint brushes at this point because I have this terrible habit of using paint brushes and forgetting to clean them 😦 so I have like 439574398 crappy brushes lying around. After this project I picked up a new pack 🙂 I ended up using a toothpick for a lot of this sign! For all the thing areas! Yes, very time-consuming with a toothpick!! But worth it!!

IMG_4144

IMG_4148

Next, take your ribbon, cut it to a nice length (if its going around a dog’s neck, like this one is!) and staple gun it to the back!

IMG_4146

Voila!!! a cutsey handmade sign! I roughed up the edges just a little with a sanding block. You can’t really tell in the pictures though!

IMG_4147

IMG_4149

And that’s how you easily make a handmade sign!

It probably only took me 1 hour total and cost $1.19 for the plywood! Michael’s sells all kinds of different lengths of wood which work out nicely for signs like this one!

If you need a sign for anything using this method is the key to painting on cute fonts!

xoxo -Dani

Leave a Reply

