Loaded Potatoe Bites! Mmmmmm

My girlfriends and I started a new trad-ish this year… Friendsgiving! Even on simple girls nights we always feast on yummy appetizer food so Friendsgiving was planned to be like a girl night on crack.

We all brought something so my contribution was: LOADED POTATOE BITES!

This is where I got the recipe!

I followed it exactly pretty much! I have copied and pasted the recipe on here to make it easier for anyone who wants to make them. Again, this recipe is from this website that I found on Pinterest and none of this was my idea, heres the link again! I take no credit for any of this 🙂

 http://www.makedinnereasy.com/loaded-potato-bites.html

Ingredients:

Potato Crust

  • 1 (20 ounce) package of uncooked refrigerated hash browns such as Simply Potato brand which I find in the refrigerated section near the eggs
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 4 Tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder

Filling

  • 1 pound bacon, crumbled
  • 1 diced tomato, drained and blotted dry
  • 3 green onions chopped
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 400’F

In a medium bowl, combine all of the ingredients.  For ease of mixing I usually combine the egg, butter, and the spices first then add the potatoes and stir.

Grease two (24 count each) mini muffin pans.  Fill each compartment with 1 Tablespoons of the potato mixture.  Then, use your fingers to firmly press the potato mixture into the bottom and slightly up the sides of each compartment.  I usually use my index and middle fingers on both hands to do this.

Bake the potato cups at 400’F for about 25 minutes until slightly browned.

Meanwhile, cook the bacon, chop the tomatoes, chop the green onions and measure out the shredded cheese.  I usually place the prepped ingredients in separate bowls.  As a note, although I’m found of baking bacon, for this recipe I use scissors to cut the bacon into small pieces and cook it over the stove, and drain it well.

Remove the potato cups from the oven and fill each cup with a bit of each of the bacon, tomatoes, green onion, and top with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese.

Return the muffin tins to the 400’F oven and bake for an additional 2 minutes or until the cheese has melted.

“I would recommend letting these rest in the pan for a few minutes then taking a table knife and running it between the pan and the outside of the potato crust.  I usually let them sit an additional 5 minutes before removing each bit with a spoon.  You can place them on a platter and reheat, serve them immediately or even serve at room temperature.”

 IMG_4289

Here are the supplies I used (minus the butter, forgot that in the picture!)

  IMG_4291

I used a tablespoon to measure out the scoops. Don’t forget to grease the pans!! Or these babies will not come out!

Next time, I would probably put them on the bottom rack!

Next time, I would probably put them on the bottom rack!

Then I pressed them down with my fingers and popped them in the oven!

  IMG_4294 IMG_4296

I diced some plum tomatoes and green onion

Fill them up, doesn't have to be pretty ;)

Fill them up, doesn’t have to be pretty 😉

Next time I might also add more potatoes in the cup! Because they do shrink! It was okay though, they still came out a nice size!

IMG_4298

Mmmmm the cheese makes it!

What's a loaded potato bite with no cheese?

What’s a loaded potato bite with no cheese?

   IMG_4308

Ta-Da! Loaded potatoe bites! The recipe says it makes 24 mini bites, but mine made about 35! I think because they coulda used a little more potatoe in each cup, but if you want to make more then 24 then underfilling like I did is fine as they still came out amazing and very potatoey!

I also chopped up some green onions and mixed it in some sour cream to dollop on top of them! I love sour cream! It totally made them even more delish!

These are super easy to make and I can definitely see them on the table for a football game or Superbowl party! They’re like an explosion of flavors in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

