I’m a Barbie girl in a Birthday world!!

This cake has been on my mind since my friend Heather asked if I could make Makenzies 2nd Birthday cake. Of course I was so excited to make it and even more thrilled when Heather said the theme was Vintage Barbie. UM YES! I love doing cute themed cakes that are different from anything I’ve ever done.

It was a 3 tiered cake. 12 inch, 10 inch, 8 inch. Top cake was red velvet with cream cheese frosting, the center cake was chocolate with chocolate frosting, and the bottom cake was yellow with vanilla frosting!

IMG_4516  

I had to get a picture by the cake 😉

IMG_4461

Heres what I started with! A blank canvas!

IMG_4475

Here is the sketch I came up with for the cake! Heather had pinned a few cakes she liked to Makenzie’s 2nd Birthday Board, so I pulled ideas from all of them to come up with this!

IMG_4463

First of all… let me just say… I use to HAND ROLL EACH AND EVERY PEARL! Can you even believe that?! What was I thinking?! I found this pearl mold by Wilton at Michaels for like $8.00 so I bought it! SO EASY! I love this thing already and know its gonna get a lot of use.

IMG_4465

IMG_4467

I cut out so many circles for the bottom cake just in case. Always need extra!

For the bows, I made them a little different then I typically would but that’s because I wanted them to look extra dainty and girly! I ended up using only 1 Barbie head, I was going to do 5 going around the middle cake but decided it was too much! Those went unused.

 IMG_4468

IMG_4469

I especially loved the center tier! At first I only did 1 strand of pearls but added a second strand shortly after this photo!

IMG_4477

IMG_4492

IMG_4493

IMG_4494

IMG_4482

Loved the cake table! It all looked so cute. Everything Heather bought and made looked awesome! (I made the Happy Birthday Banner and will have a blog post on that up shortly!)

IMG_4486

IMG_4549

How cute are they?!

IMG_4552

Then the cake had to be cut! As sad as that was for me 😉

IMG_4555

IMG_4556

The aftermath: not so pretty!

IMG_4477

IMG_4508

Finally I was able to get a cute picture of the birthday girl!! How adorable is her entire outfit?!

Leave a Reply

