Breakfast Cups!

These are the breakfast cups that Maria made for our Annual Girls Grab Bag party! Check that out here: Grab Bag Post!

I seriously fell in love with these little cups of breakfast heaven. They have bacon in them… so yeah, that’s obviously enough to love right there. I got the recipe off of Pinterest. Here is a link to the original recipe: http://www.marthastewart.com/330179/bacon-egg-and-toast-cups and look at that! It’s by Martha Stewart! Love that bitch!

*NOTE: This recipe is for 6 cups! I made 4! I originally started out making 3, then my sister wanted one so I made 4 instead*

Alright lets get started!

Heres a visual on how they’re made!

You will need the following items:

  1. 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  2. 8 slices white sandwich bread (in my case, 4)
  3. 6 slices bacon (in my case, 4)
  4. 6 large eggs (in my case, 4)
  5. Coarse salt and ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375, grease the muffin cups with your butter

IMG_4793

IMG_4794

Again, I began this adventure making 3, then ended up making 4 🙂

IMG_4795

Use the top of a big glass, at least 4 inches in diameter to cut the circles. The original recipe says to use a 4 inch cookie cutter but not everyone does (but of course I do lol) but this is how Maria did it at our party and I thought it was a good idea!

IMG_4796

Flatten the bread down

IMG_4797

Make your bacon as you regularly would. Do not cook till crisp. Cook them until they’re medium, right before they’re about to start crisping up.
IMG_4798

The original recipe says to cut the circle in half and then put the bread into the muffin cups, but I found no reason for that. Leave the circles of bread whole, and press it into the muffin cups. Any bread that rips, just fill in the holes with more flatten bread pieces. I think used a silicone kitchen brush to lightly brush the remaining melted butter on to the bread.

IMG_4799

Add your bacon to the muffin cups

IMG_4800

Crack an egg into each cup, over the bacon. Sprinkle salt and pepper on top, and throw them in the oven for about 25-30 minutes. The original recipe said 15-20 but at that point the eggs were still a little too runny for my taste. I did almost 30 minutes.

IMG_4801

How yummy do these look?!

IMG_4802

The bacon gets to just the right amount of crispiness after its done in the oven!

IMG_4803

These are really easy to make! And theyre seriously just so good! You can bite into them or you can eat them with a fork, either way is just as enjoyable 🙂

xoxoxox

-Dani

Leave a Reply

