Homemade Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been on hiatus for a little bit, but I have returned 🙂 I haven’t had any cakes to make and I’m thinking our weather has had a lot to do with that. Its been non stop snow. Every single day!!! That’s Chicago for you. Then, the 2 cakes I did have to make… I couldn’t get my camera to work! It kept saying my memory card was locked. I was so confused. Then today I look at the memory card itself and see this tiny lock and unlock switch! Problem solved!

Due to my camera functioning again, I was like “COOKIES”. My Mom and I were watching the show Kelsey’s Essentials on the Cooking Channel and she made these amazing Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies! SO EASY TO MAKE TOO! It’s seriously stupid easy!

*This is Kelseys recipe and I take zero credit for any of this besides the Ghirardelli Chocolate part ;)*

This is her recipe copy and pasted!

Ingrediants

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 2 overripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure  vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips. I didn’t have these on hand, but what I did have is an entire bag of Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate squares! I crushed them up and used those instead!

IMG_4805

Preheat oven to 350!

Use Bananas that have brown spots on them, they are the most ripe and will taste best in these cookies!

IMG_4806

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the sugar and shortening until light and fluffy. Mix in the bananas and egg and mix well, scraping down the sides of the bowl. Mix in the vanilla.

IMG_4808

In a separate large mixing bowl, combine the rolled oats, flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Mix until thoroughly combined.

IMG_4809

IMG_4811

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. It will be a wet cookie dough (for some reason mine was a little thicker then what the recipe describes. It just resulted in a fatter cookie!)

IMG_4812

I had to unwrap about 15 squares. It was easiest to crush them in the little packaging with my fingers then open it and dump them into a measuring cup. I used the entire bag of squares!

IMG_4813

I used about 1 1/2 cups of crushed chocolate! The more the better if you ask me. So finally, stir in the chocolate chips.

IMG_4814

I used my cookie scooper to place them on the ungreased baking sheet (what’s nice about the recipe having shortening is that we don’t have to grease a cookie sheet!) Each cookie sheet should have 2 cookies! Pop

IMG_4815

Bake just until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes. After 10 minutes, turn and swap the cookie sheets on each rack for even cooking. Cool on a wire rack.

IMG_4818

YUMMMMMMM!

IMG_4819

IMG_4820

IMG_4821

These were AMAZING right out of the oven! The banana taste is subtle yet totally there. It reminded me of banana bread with chocolate chips in it! So good and simple!

xoxoxox

Dani

 

Leave a comment